Goals? Yep, I’ve got goals!

Most people take care of resolutions coincident with the New Year, but I’m a well-known procrastinator.  I’ve been thinking long and hard about what goals (I much prefer that term to “resolutions” although I can’t clearly articulate exactly why…) I’ve got for my 2013.  After a month’s deliberation (and some stealthy work towards these goals already under my belt), this is what I’ve come up with:

1. Find the delicate balance of time and energy expenditure between work, family, and play.  This is goal number one, and I know it will prove to be the most challenging.  I’m constantly pulled in umpteen different directions, and I’m not always the best at figuring out where to best allocate my time.  I’ve got some very exciting things going on at work that really ignite my passions, but I know I can’t let those things consume me.  My family is, and always will be, my highest priority…however, folded laundry, cleared counters, and an organized, color-coded toyroom are completely overrated. By “play” I mean “me time” something I’m really struggling with not feeling selfish or guilty about when I indulge.  Ironically, my indulging usually involves taking time to go for a run or sneak out for a fitness class or swim workout.  Most people probably don’t consider that an indulgence, but with a finite amount of time and only so much “me” to go around…it feels so good to do something good for myself that it must be a guilty pleasure. 

2. Cross that 50th state off my list. I blame completely and exclusively my parents for my travel goals.  My earliest memories are on the road on multi-week camping vacations with my family (and about 20 other families in our camping club that I grew up with).  We had a sticker map on the outside of our camper — it was the outline of all 50 states, and we got to put the state stickers on it when we went to that state.  My parents took me to 48 states (sure I don’t remember many of them, as I was too busy napping and staring at reflections and whatever else I did when I was a baby), and five years ago John and I spent 10 amazing days in Alaska to celebrate our 10th anniversary.  We recently booked our 15th anniversary trip — to Hawaii!  Of course, once I hit 50 then I have to start all over and make sure to get back to those I don’t remember from my early childhood…

3. Do at least one thing I’ve never done before that scares me a little bit.  I don’t know yet what this is going to be.  It might have something to do with our trip to Hawaii…I’ve never kayaked in the ocean; I’ve never been in a helicopter;  I’ve never been on a zip line (all of things are potentially on our vacation itinerary).  It might also have something to do with my kids…they’re taking me into uncharted territory as they are growing up much faster than what I’m comfortable with.  And I’ve said for about 20 years that I’ve wanted a tattoo…and laser eye surgery.  Who knows if I’ll ever go through with either one of those! (Definitely not without backup and moral support — who’s with me?!)

4. Stay healthy and injury free while working towards fitness and racing goals. This is the one goal that’s still a work in progress.  Spending most of 2012 either injured (foot ligament strain, metatarsal stress fracture) or recovering from foot surgery (bunionectomy that immobilized me for weeks, then rendered me gimpy in a clunky boot for several more weeks) definitely gave me a different perspective on injury, recovery, and empathy for those who endure and grow stronger as a result of injury and recovery.  I’ll readily admit that I spent a lot of time feeling sorry for myself as I iced my foot 24/7 for a solid month.  It was a bipolar rollercoaster between resolving to heal back to a stronger and better version of myself, and telling myself that I’d probably never be able to run the way I wanted to.  As I inch closer to 40, I’ve certainly let go of the notion that I’m invincible.  To that end, my goals involve getting stronger (I want to have the upper body strength to do push ups and pull ups, not to mention looking good in something sleeveless this summer!), restraining myself from obsessing about the number of miles I run each week or my pace…focusing instead on quality workouts and whatever pace feels good and lets me smell the proverbial flowers along the way, and picking some good races to work towards.  I haven’t yet registered for any, but I’m looking at a spring triathlon and half marathon, and then this summer a couple family friendly 5ks to get all of us out there, and then a few longer races (10k? 10mi? another half marathon?) leading up to the big kahuna…I’ve got the itch to train for and run Twin Cities Marathon again this year.  I want to make it happen.  I hope I can make it happen. I hope my family and friends are willing to help me make it happen.  I do have 100 miles and one half marathon under my belt already in the first month of 2013, so if that’s any indication how the rest of the year will go, I can deal with that.

5. Make sure my family and friends know how much I love and appreciate them. Not a day goes by that I don’t look at John and ask myself how in the world did I get lucky enough to marry a guy  like him.  Or look at Sarah and see the beautiful and witty and strong young woman she is growing into — we have the potential to be very good friends and bitter enemies (potentially in the same day).  Or look at AJ and completely melt when I see those brown eyes and hear him say “I just want to hug you all the time.”  Then there’s Hannah…she’s a hoot and a firecracker with a thread of sensitivity that often seems inconsistent with the rest of her wild child personality.  I can’t forget my friends…I’m pretty sure I have the best friends in the world.  Friends who borrow my van and return it spotless.  Friends who drop off a cup of my favorite coffee just because.  Friends who know when I need chocolate on my desk at work.  Friends who take my kids when I’m in a bind. Friends I can call out of the blue who I haven’t spoken with for weeks when life chaos takes over…and we pick up as if we’d gone out for lunch the day before. Friends who honestly want me to be happy. 

I’m one lucky girl, and I won’t forget it.  2013 – I’m ready for you

Leave a Reply

