Week 3: Honeymooning

Screen-shot-2011-04-28-at-7.38.51-PM

Third week of marathon training: check! Week 3 of 16…still in the honeymoon phase when the runs are novel and exciting and I look forward to the challenge of each one. It would be nice if that lasted through the entire 16 weeks, but I know it’s going to get tougher. When enthusiasm falters and discipline takes over…that’s where the magic happens (even if it doesn’t feel very magical at the time). Desire + determination + discipline = definite success. Just need to keep my eye on the prize.

Let’s recap the week.
Speed work? Yep. I didn’t have the motivation to head to the track by myself, and it’s so much easier to set the speed and distance intervals on the treadmill than to do it manually outside! 2mi warmup (6.5mph/9:13), 1200 (7.8/7:41), 1000 (7.9/7:35), 800 (8.0/7:30), 600 (8.1/7:24), 400 (8.2/7:19)…each punctuated by a 200m rest interval (6.0/10:00). Finished up with cooldown at 6.5/9:13 until I rounded out the mileage.
Tempo? Yep. I knew when I went to bed (very late) the night before that this run wouldn’t be pretty, but I got it done. 1mi easy (9:42), 5 tempo miles (target: 8:49, actual: 8:51, 8:51, 8:48, 8:36, 8:42), 1mi easy (8:53).  Did this one  on the path along the road right by my house, and I could have done without the sight and smell of the dead, bloated deer I ran past. Twice.

1013048_618354178189847_790835235_n

My lovely MOTR running buddies…embracing a run in the rain!

Long run? Yep. Well sort of, actually. My schedule said 17 miles (up from 15 last week). Much like last week, I chunked it up with my MOTR distance support group. A little more than 3 miles to DeNae’s house to catch a ride to Bunker Hills, a little more from our parking spot to the group run meeting spot, a good chunk (8+) with the group, then back to our parking spot. I was still more than 3 mi shy of my planned 17. And it was raining. Scratch that. It was pouring. I made the executive decision that 13.53 was close enough, and that this was a good week to “fall back” so I could surge forward to that 17 next week. It’s the first time I’ve deviated from the training plan, and it probably won’t be the last. I don’t plan to make a habit of cutting those long runs short, though.

Cross training? Yep. I packed my bike when I took AJ to baseball practice and took it for a 12.5 spin to Bunker Hills while he was at practice. Got back just in time for Mom duty, as AJ whacked himself in the face with his bat and chipped his tooth (yes, a permanent one…yes, significantly) at the end of practice.  We’ll get that jagged smile fixed today.  I also got in a beautiful 5mi hike with my family this weekend while we were on a camping getaway in Forestville/Mystery Cave State Park.

1044218_10200871544005298_924343970_n

Rest? Yep. Well sort of, actually.  I took Monday (the day after my 15 miler from last week) completely off, but I ran 4 days, biked once, and hiked a couple times over the weekend. It was the 4th of July holiday week too, so we did enjoy some time at the lake with family and friends too.

994825_10200185969668779_1680145201_n

This marathon training thing is shaping up to be pretty fun and pretty manageable (so far, anyway).  I’m thankful for the support I get from my family, the shared miles with my running buddies (both on foot and on a bike), the words of encouragement from friends and family both near and far, and the determination to do this for my Dad and raise money and awareness for Alzheimer’s Disease (click here to check out my fundraising page – please!).

14812210-silhouette-of-marathon-runner-and-cyclist-race--abstract-backgroundBG8pLpSCEAEDJC9

Now for the numbers:

Miles run so far in 2013: 594.66

Miles run so far in marathon training: 93.76

Fundraising total: $390 (goal is $2000 – please help me!)

Days until Twin Cities Marathon: 87

Thanks for coming on this journey with me.  Together we can make a world of difference.

Leave a Reply

