‘Twas the night before Twin Cities Marathon

_IX_0151_1

‘Twas the night before Twin Cities Marathon and all through the house, the signs of race preparations were everywhere – and we’re crossing our fingers we won’t get doused!

The weather forecast is best from Sven Sundgaard and KARE, I sure hope he’s right – no downpours, maybe even a little sun out there.

The family has planned a pasta dinner, then early(ish) bed, with complex carbs, lots of water and positive thoughts to fill my head.

photo (2)My race outfit is lined up, laid out, timing chip secured on. Garmin charged, GU packets lined up, and Moms on the Run visor to don.

Look for me in purple and orange and in pink.  I’m dressing for visibility and comfort, not fashion, I think.

I’ve trained long and hard, for months and for weeks. Through rain, heat, before dawn, after dark, with minor injuries and a few joint creaks.

I have had amazing support from family and friends. On the training runs with BRFs, I always wished the miles wouldn’t end.

1233374_566461816748833_1370461835_n

Why would I do this, train for months and run hundreds of miles?  First, in memory of my Dad, and second running brings me endless smiles.

I’m running on the ALZ Stars charity team with my niece, together Katie and I have raised almost $3000, each doing our piece.

To honor the memory and legacy of my Dad, we’re working to make a difference in the name of the best man the world ever had.

If he were still with us, he’d be there cheering if he could. Giving me and his grandkids Jason and Katie standing ovations as we ran by – he certainly would!

mom&dad (2)

The money we’ve raised will make a difference, we know. It’s not too late to donate – and your support to end Alzheimer’s to show!

If you can come and cheer us on tomorrow, please bring along – purple balloons (and some sunshine) – and help us be strong!

Tomorrow is a big day, and I’m thankful for those who are yelling. Cheering, cowbells, balloons, and signs with stories worth telling.

TCMArathonTwin Cities Marathon, I’ve got you in my sights. I’m trained, I’m ready…one more sleep, one more night.

Tomorrow, rain or shine I’m ready to run. Twenty-six point two miles of dancing in the streets with friends – my kind of fun!

Leave a Reply

